NSW School Holidays, Public Holidays, Terms, and Long Weekends {Updated for 2025}

Home » NSW School Holidays, Public Holidays, Terms, and Long Weekends {Updated for 2025}

The key dates for NSW public holidays in 2025 are now available, allowing planners to easily plan school holidays, extended long holidays, or long weekends, eliminating the need to determine the exact dates of Easter or Christmas Day or Boxing Day.

The NSW government has provided a list of school holidays and term dates for public schools in 2025, which typically last 10 weeks. These dates do not include student-free days or school development days, and independent and Catholic schools have different holiday schedules. We’ll provide tips on maximizing school and public holidays by planning fantastic long weekends.

NSW School Terms and Holidays 2025 Overview

NSW’s academic year is divided into four terms, each with a designated break period, providing students with opportunities to rest, recharge, and participate in extracurricular activities.

School start and end dates vary between government and non-government schools, with students starting on different dates than teachers. Check with your school for specific dates. 

NSW School Holidays, Term Dates & Public Holidays 2025 List

NSW School Holidays 2025

Schools Holidays 2025
First day of school in 2025 Friday 31 Jan 2025 (Eastern division) | Friday 7 Feb 2025(Western division)
Autumn School Holidays(Eastern and Western divisions) 14 Apr (Mon) – 24 Apr 2025 (Thu)
Winter School Holidays(Eastern and Western divisions) 7 Jul (Mon) – 18 Jul 2025 (Fri)
Spring School Holidays(Eastern and Western divisions) 29 Sep (Mon) – 10 Oct 2025 (Fri)
Summer School Holidays(Eastern division) 22 Dec 2025(Mon) – 26 Jan 2026 (Mon)
Summer School Holidays(Western division) 22 Dec 2025(Mon) – 2 Feb 2026 (Mon)

NSW Schools Term Dates 2025

Term Dates 2025
Term 1 (Eastern division) 31 January 2025 (Fri) – 11 April 2025 (Fri)
Term 1 (Western division) 7 February 2025 (Fri) – 11 April 2025 (Fri)
Term 2 (Eastern and Western division) 28 April 2025 (Mon) – 4 July 2025 (Fri)
Term 3 (Eastern and Western division) 21 July 2025 (Mon) – 26 September 2025 (Fri)
Term 4 (Eastern and Western division) 13 October 2025 (Mon) – 19 December 2025 (Fri)

NSW Public Holidays 2025

Public Holiday 2025
New Year Day1 January 2025 (Wednesday)
Australia Day27 January 2025 (Friday)
Good Friday18 April 2025 (Friday)
Saturday before Easter Sunday19 April 2025 (Saturday)
Easter Sunday20 April 2025 (Sunday)
Easter Monday21 April 2025 (Monday)
ANZAC Day 25 April 2025 (Friday)
King's Birthday9 June 2025 (Monday)
Labour Day6 October 2025 (Monday)
Christmas Day 25 December 2025 (Thursday)
Boxing Day26 December 2025 (Friday)

*The public holiday dates mentioned are accurate as of the time of publication, but they may be subject to change. Reference

Long Weekends Dates & When to Take Leave

In New South Wales there are Four 3-day long weekends in 2025:

Long Weekend Dates 2025
Australia Day 25 Jan – 27 Jan (Sat – Mon)
ANZAC Day 25 April – 27 April (Fri– Sun)
King’s birthday 7 June – 9 June (Sat – Mon)
Labour Day 4 Oct – 6 Oct (Sar – Mon)