NSW School Holidays 2024: Public Holidays & School Terms

Home » NSW School Holidays 2024: Public Holidays & School Terms

Here are the official dates of New South Wales school holidays, NSW school terms and public holidays 2024 that makes your planning simple.

NSW and Sydney School Holidays 2024

When Students or parents are asking for, “When are school holidays NSW?”, “When does school start in 2024?” or “When does school go back in 2024?” – you’ll findout the key dates at School Finder. Checkout the below for the final dates of school holidays.

NSW school holidays, term dates and public holidays 2024 List

2024 NSW School Terms (Public Schools)

SCHOOL TERM NSW TERM DATES 2024*
Term 1 2024 NSW For Eastern Division:

Tuesday 30 January 2024 - Friday 12 April 2024
School Development day (no school for students): Tuesday 30   January 2024,   Wednesday 31 January 2024

For Western Division:

Tuesday 06 February 2024 - Friday 12 April 2024
School Development day (no school for students): Tuesday 6     February 2024,   Wednesday 7 February 2024

Term 2 2024 NSW Monday 29 April 2024 - Friday 05 July 2024

School Development day (no school for students): Monday 29 April 2024

Term 3 2024 NSW Monday 22 July 2024 - Friday 27 September 2024

School Development day (no school for students): Monday 22 July 2024

Term 4 2024 NSW Monday 14 October 2024 - Friday 20 December 2024

School Development day (no school for students): Thursday 19 December 2024, Friday 20 December 2024

2024 NSW School Holidays

SCHOOL TERM NSW SCHOOL HOLIDAY DATES*
Term 1 school holidays Easter school holidays 2024 (autumn holidays):

(Easter holidays 2024 are part of Term 1)

Kids go back to school on Tuesday 30 April 2024.
School Development day (no school for children): Monday 29 April 2024

Term 2 school holidays July school holidays 2024 (winter holidays):

Saturday 06 July 2024 - Sunday 21 July 2024
School Term for kids starts on Tuesday 23 July 2024

School Development day (no school for kids): Monday 22 July 2024

Term 3 school holidays September school holidays 2024 (spring holidays):

Saturday 28 September 2024 - Sunday 13 October 2024
School starts on Monday 14 October 2024

Term 4 school holidays NSW Christmas school holidays 2024 (summer holidays):

For Eastern Division:
Saturday 21 December 2024 - Thursday 30 January 2025
School starts 2025: Friday 31 January 2025

For Western Division:
Saturday 21 December 2024 - Thursday 06 February 2025
Back to school 2025: Friday 7 February 2025

School Development days (no school for students): Thursday 19
  December 2024, Friday 20 December 2024

2024 NSW Public Holidays

NSW PUBLIC HOLIDAYS PUBLIC HOLIDAY DATE*
New Year’s Day Monday 1 January 2024
Australia Day Friday 26 January 2024
Good Friday Friday 29 March 2024
Easter Saturday Saturday 30 March 2024
Easter Sunday Sunday 31 March 2024
Easter Monday Monday 1 April 2024
ANZAC Day Thursday 25 April 2024
King's Birthday Monday 10 June 2024
Bank Holiday (banks and financial institutions) Monday 5 August 2024
Labour Day Monday 7 October 2024
Christmas Day Wednesday 25 December 2024
Boxing Day Thursday 26 December 2024

Guideline for Public Holidays in NSW is as Follows:

The Monday after a weekend (Saturday or Sunday) falls on a public holiday, as does Anzac Day, New Year’s Day, and Christmas Day.

When Boxing Day falls on a Saturday, public holidays also apply to the following Monday. If Boxing Day falls on a Sunday or Monday, there will also be a public holiday on the following Tuesday.

FAQ For NSW School Holidays

School holiday dates for 2023 and 2024 are as follows:
  • Christmas holidays 2023: Wednesday 20 December 2023 – Monday 29 January 2024 (Eastern Division) / Monday 5 February 2024 (Western Division).
  • Easter holidays 2024: Saturday 13 April 2024 – Sunday 28 April 2024.
  • July holidays 2024: Saturday 06 July 2024 – Sunday 21 July 2024.
  • September holidays 2024: Saturday 28 September 2024 – Sunday 13 October 2024.
  • Christmas holidays 2024: Saturday 21 December 2024 – Thursday 30 January 2025 (Eastern Division) / Thursday 06 February 2025 (Western Division).
  • On Tuesday, December 19th, 2023, for both the Eastern and Western divisions.
    Term 1 commences on Friday, January 30, 2024 (Eastern division) or Tuesday, February 6, 2024 (Western division);
    Term 2 begins on Monday, April 29, 2024;
    Term 3 starts on Monday, July 22, 2024;
    Term 4 commences on Monday, October 14, 2024.
    Here are the school term dates for 2024:
    Term 1:
    Eastern Division: Tuesday, January 30, 2024, to Friday, April 12, 2024.
    Western Division: Tuesday, February 06, 2024, to Friday, April 12, 2024.
    Term 2:
    Monday, April 29, 2024, to Friday, July 05, 2024.
    Term 3:
    Monday, July 22, 2024, to Friday, September 27, 2024.
    Term 4:
    Monday, October 14, 2024, to Friday, December 20, 2024.
    NSW schools will end on Friday, December 20th, 2024. However, Thursday, December 19th, 2024, and Friday, December 20th, 2024, are designated School Development days with no classes for students.