NZ School Holidays, School Terms & Public Holidays 2024

Home » NZ School Holidays, School Terms & Public Holidays 2024

The availability of official dates for New Zealand’s school holidays 2024, school terms, and public holidays simplifies planning.

When Students or parents are asking for, “What dates are NZ school holidays 2024?”, “When does school start in New Zealand?” or “What dates are NZ terms 2024?” – you’ll findout the key dates at School Finder. Checkout the below for the final dates of school holidays.

New Zealand School Holidays

New Zealand school holidays, school term & public holidays 2024 list

Planning for upcoming NZ school holidays?

The NZ school holidays 2024 offer a variety of fun family activities in both the North and South Islands, including Easter, July, September-October term break, and summer holidays, catering to various interests.

School Terms 2024 NZ

Check school term 2024 in New Zealand and near by locations Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, Queenstown

NZ SCHOOL TERMS NZ SCHOOL TERM DATES 2024
Term 1 2024 Monday 29 January 2024 - Friday 12 April 2024

Good Friday (29 March 2024), Easter Monday (01 April 2024) and Easter Tuesday (02 April 2024) are public holidays and part of Term 1 2024.

Term 2 2024 Monday 29 April 2024 - Friday 05 July 2024

King’s Birthday (Monday 03 June 2024) and Matariki (Friday 28 June 2024) are public holidays and part of Term 2 2024.

Term 3 2024 Monday 22 July 2024 - Friday 27 September 2024
Term 4 2024 Monday 14 October 2024 - Friday 20 December 2024

NZ School Holidays 2024

Checkout NZ ans near by locations Auckland, Christchurch, Hamilton, Queenstown, Rotorua, Wellington School Holidays

NZ SCHOOL TERM SCHOOL HOLIDAY DATES NEW ZEALAND
Term 1 Holidays 2024 Easter holidays 2024 NZ:

Saturday 13 April 2024 - Sunday 28 April 2024
School starts (Term 2) on Monday 29 April 2024

These New Zealand school holidays include ANZAC Day (Saturday 25 April 2024) public holiday.

Term 2 Holidays 2024 July school holidays 2024 (winter):

Saturday 06 July 2024 - Sunday 21 July 2024
School starts (Term 3) on Monday 22 July 2024

Term 3 Holidays 2024 September - October school holidays 2024:

Saturday 28 September 2024 - Sunday 13 October 2024
School starts (Term 4) on Monday 14 October 2024

Term 4 Holidays 2024 Christmas holidays 2024 NZ (summer):

Christmas holidays in NZ start Saturday 21 December 2024, and end between Sunday 26 January 2025 and Thursday 06 February 2025.

NZ school holidays are 5 - 6 weeks long.

Back to school NZ 2025: between Monday 27 January 2025 and Friday 7 February 2025.


These New Zealand school holidays include


Christmas Day (Wednesday 25 December 2024),

  • Christmas Day (Wednesday 25 December 2024),
  • Boxing Day (Thursday 26 December 2024),
  • New Year's Day (Wednesday 01 January 2025), and
  • Day after New Year's Day (Thursday 02 January 2025).

NZ Public Holidays 2024

NZ public holidays dates 2024 for Auckland, Christchurch, Hamilton, Queenstown, Rotorua, Tauranga, Wellington, & Whangarei.

NEW ZEALAND PUBLIC HOLIDAY 2024 PUBLIC HOLIDAY DATES
New Year's Day Monday 1 January 2024
Day after New Year’s Day Tuesday 2 January 2024
Waitangi Day Tuesday 6 February 2024
Good Friday 2024 NZ Friday 29 March 2024
Easter 2024 NZ Sunday 31 March 2024
Easter Monday Monday 1 April 2024
Anzac Day Thursday 25 April 2024
King’s Birthday NZ 2024 Monday 3 June 2024
Matariki Friday 28 June 2024
Labour Day Monday 28 October 2024
Christmas Day Wednesday 25 December 2024
Boxing Day Thursday 26 December 2024

FAQ For NZ School Holidays

School in New Zealand begins on the following dates:
  • Term 1 2024 starts on Monday, January 29th, 2024.
  • Term 2 2024 starts on Monday, April 29th, 2024.
  • Term 3 2024 starts on Monday, July 22nd, 2024.
  • Term 4 2024 starts on Monday, October 14th, 2024.
  • The NZ school holidays in 2024 are:
  • Summer holidays: 21 Dec 2023 – 28 Jan 2024
  • April holidays: 13 Apr – 28 Apr
  • July holidays: 06 Jul – 21 Jul
  • October holidays: 28 Sep – 13 Oct
  • Christmas holidays: 21 Dec 2024 – 26 Jan 2025 / 06 Feb 2025
  • Here are the 2024 school term dates in New Zealand:
  • Term 1: 29 Jan – 12 Apr
  • Term 2: 29 Apr – 05 Jul
  • Term 3: 22 Jul – 27 Sep
  • Term 4: 14 Oct – 20 Dec
  • 275 to 276 school days in a year in New Zealand, depending on the specific year.
    In New Zealand, the school year starts from late January to early February. For 2024, it begins on Monday, January 29th.